Leicester Band Resin

band called resin
Resin at Hinckley Music Festival 2013

5th June 2013



Brit riff beasts ‘Resin’ stake their claim as rising alternative rock newcomers, armed with their new album ‘Embrace the Fall’, out in stores from Monday 5th August.

Channelling from acts such as Seether, A Perfect Circle and Alice In Chains, UK alt-rockers ‘Resin’ pack a formidable punch and are blessed with thoughtful song-writing abilities and a range of musicianship and diversity that is rarely seen amongst today’s current glut of metal/metalcore bands. Expansive, eclectic and brooding, Resin will rise to the surface this year.

Formed in Hinckley, Leicestershire, the early beginnings of Resin can be traced back to a happenstance meeting in a bar between Guitarists Mark ‘Chez’ Roseby and Sime Yarwood.

Soon after the duo crossed swords with vocalist James Botha, who had just moved to the area from South Africa. The trio started to rattle out cover versions and hunted for a suitable drummer and bassist to fulfil their true potential. After a relentless search, the three piece finally uncovered Dave ‘Sev’ Seville on Bass and Mark Abbott who plays Drums, Cajon, and Cello.

With a full line-up in tow, Resin were unleashed to the general public at the tail end of 2010. A constant bout of shows throughout the heart of England followed, as well as numerous successful festival appearances throughout 2010. And during the last twelve months, the band have stepped it up even further, snaring a series of shows supporting everyone from Voodoo Six, Fearless Vampire Killers and I am Giant, to Dr and the Medics.

At the end of 2012, Resin turned their attention towards recording, and the quintet marched into the recording studio to work on their debut album. After a series of intense recording sessions and another six months of writing and re-shaping, the band emerged from the studios with their debut record, ‘Embrace The Fall’, and it’s a triumphant record that is not bound by fashion.

The beautifully bleak ‘Entropy’ opens proceedings and clearly lays out the band’s manifesto amidst grinding hard riffs balanced with subtle acoustic tendencies and capped with pertinent strains of nihilism. As the record moves on, the quintet tip their caps to Cornnell and Co with the Soundgarden-esque drive of ‘Fake’.

The album then swings back with the acoustic laden “Beskadig’, which, sung in Afrikaan, is a homage to Botha’s native South African roots. The record continues its sweeping journey with the majestic and flowingly anthemic ‘Poison’.

Now, armed with a growing fan-base and their debut album set for a re-launch, the scene is set for the band to kick on and break out to the nation.




RELEASE DATE: Monday 5th August

DISTRIBUTION: Amazon, iTunes, Spotify.

FORMAT: Album / Digital Download.

TRACKLISTING: 1. Entropy; 2. Carpe Diem; 3. Fallen; 4. Fake; 5. Instinct; 6. Beskadig; 7. Clouds; 8. Poison;. 9. Clouds (Acoustic).

FOCUS TRACKS: 1. Entropy; 4. Fake; 6. Beskadig; 8. Poison.

BAND MEMBERS: James Botha – Vocals; Mark “chez” Roseby – Guitar / Vocals; Sime Yarwood – Guitar

Dave ‘Sev’ Seville – Bass; Mark Abbott : Drums, Cajon, Cello.

FOR FANS OF: Seether, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden.

See also:

The home page for the bands section

 What we do for bands

About The Editor 535 Articles
The Editor of Music in Leicester magazine is Kevin Gaughan assisted by Trevor Locke